Empowerment. Engagement. Authenticity.

Reviews of Described Performances and Events

Since 2010, I have been attending theatre performances that have live audio description. Live audio description enhances the theatre experience for people with vision loss by describing the set, characters, costumes and action during a performance, without interrupting the performance. Patrons with vision loss wear earpieces so that the description is transmitted without disturbing others in the theatre.

Vocaleye Descriptive Arts has been providing live description for theatre goers with vision loss since 2009 and is the leader in this field in Canada. In recent years, Vocaleye has expanded their services to include live description at the Vancouver Pride Parade and at described tours of the Vancouver Art Gallery. In 2018, I was pleased to be elected to the Board of Directors of Vocaleye and currently sit as Vice Chair. I attended several described performances and events during the 2018-2019 Vocaleye season and have decided to write reviews for each event in the hopes that reading them will encourage more people with vision loss to come out to the theatre. It is also my hope that the sighted community will step up to support such a worthy and successful endeavour that integrates people with vision loss into the mainstream.

Kristy, receiver in hand, at her first Vocaleye performance in 2010

E-volver 2020 

Like many theatre arts festivals and events, the Revolver Festival has had to evolve. The 2020 version is called E-volver and runs from June 18-27, 2020. I was asked to evaluate how low-vision friendly two of the shows are. Find my reviews below and check out the E-volver Festival if you can.

Escape - June 21 and 27, 2020

Selective Memory - June 24 and 26, 2020

VocalEye Virtual Presentations

Going to a live theatre performance is off the agenda for now thanks to Covid 19. Anxious to engage with theatre goers with vision loss, VocalEye launched its first virtual arts presentation on May 24, 2020. Reviews of all virtual presentations will be posted below. I for one am happy that theatre has made its way into my home until I can venture onto its turf once more.

August 2, 2020 - Virtual Vancouver Pride

July 29, 2020 - Wise Children

July 26, 2020 - Highlights from the Indian Summer Festival

July 22, 2020 - Amadeus

July 15, 2020 - The Deep Blue Sea

July 8, 2020 - Trouble in Tahiti

June 28, 2020 - Awake

June 24, 2020 - Small Island

June 17, 2020 - Macbeth

June 10, 2020 - Coriolanus

May 24, 2020 - Assassinating Thomson

May 31, 2020 - Described Video Art Tour of Wanderings

Frontera: A Universal Vision

I was asked to write a promotional piece for the PuSh International Performing Arts Festival. Find out why I think Frontera should be described for the blind and partially-sighted community.

Reviews

pUsH International Performing Arts Festival

February 8, 2020 - Anywhere But Here

February 1, 2020 - Skyborn

January 30, 2020 - Frontera

January 29, 2020 - She, Mami Wada and the Pussy Witch Hunt

Described Art Tours at the Vancouver Art Gallery

January 25, 2020 - Rapture, Rhythm and the Tree of Life

November 30, 2019 - Transits and Returns

September 7, 2019 - ALBERTO GIACOMETTI: A LINE THROUGH TIME

June 1, 2019 - BC Access Awareness Day at the Vancouver Art Gallery

April 6, 2019 - French Moderns

VocalEye Described Performances and Events

February 25, 2020 - Cipher

February 16, 2020 - Noises Off

December 27, 2019 - Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat

December 14, 2019 - Pinocchio at the East Van Panto

December 7, 2019 - Peter Pan

December 1, 2019 - The Sound of Music

November 22, 2019 - Translations (All Bodies Dance)

October 15, 2019 - The Birds and the Bees

October 12, 2019 - Stanley Park Ghost Train

October 6, 2019 -A Thousand Splendid Suns

October 5, 2019 - Described Art Walk

September 15, 2019 - Perv Hunters

September 14, 2019 - The Robber Bridegroom

August 11, 2019 - Shakespeare in Love

August 4, 2019 - Vancouver Pride Parade

July 12, 2019 - Strings for Peace

 May 3, 2019 - Bed and Breakfast

January 25, 2019 - Palmyra

April 24, 2018 - Misery

 

Quick Links

Reviews of Described Theatre and Events

Reviews of Described Theatre and Events

The Kristy Corner Handouts

ESL Instructor Experience

Educational Administrator Experience

Accessible Media Portfolio

Kristy Wins 2009 BC TEAL Writing Contest

A Piece of Kristy's Story

From the Wordynerd

Daily Facebook Posts

Find The Kristy Corner on FacebookFind The Kristy Corner on TwitterThe Kristy Corner on LinkedInFind The Kristy Corner on Pinterest